CrazyEngineers Archive
Old, but evergreen and popular discussions on CrazyEngineers, presented to you in read-only mode.
@pnv ganesh • 29 Sep, 2012 • 1 like
Hello, I am pnv ganesh. I am an electrical and electronics engineer and I understand very less about computers. Therefore, I want to know why does a computer understand only binary language? Why are there only 0s and 1s involved?
@Kaustubh Katdare • 29 Sep, 2012 • 2 likes
pnv ganesh
why computer can understand only binary language?
That's a nice question. To understand why computers use Binary; you'll first have to understand that binary language is basically just two digits - 0 and 1. Each of these digits actually represent 'state'; let's call it 'On' and 'Off'. To understand this better in electronics; an 'on' state could be thought of as a positive voltage say '5V' and 0 would represent '0' volts. These are the two states the electronic devices can understand.

Now, the data can be represented using a series of these on and off stages. That is we can represent the information through the series of on and off states in electronics.

So visualize it as follows: The circuits themselves don't understand anything except that they can be in the on state or off states. A series of on and off signals can be used to represent data - and that's why computers understand binary code.

I'd like more inputs from the electronics and computer science engineers. I'm not sure whether I can explain this in even simpler words.
@grayhat • 29 Sep, 2012 0 and 1 is nothing but if the current is passed on the circuit is represent by 1.
and otherwise it is represent like 0,thats why computer understand only 0s and 1s
@Jeffrey Arulraj • 29 Sep, 2012 Not exactly current as the losses due to current transmission is very high and lot of heat is generated

Instead now a days we use more voltage to represent 1 and 0

Recently I heard of MOS having high rating = 1.7 V and low rating of 0V