Project Help: Air purification; deep UV led lights

Hello, I just found this forum and am hoping to get some ideas/assistance. I am a full time BMET student at Devry, and just started my senior project, which is an 8 month small group venture. We have a great idea involving air purification on a very small scale, and would like to use deep UV led lights (small). We have discovered that in order to be effective at killing most bacteria we need to be in the 254-280 nM range (UV-C), but also discovered that not only are these types of led's hard to find, but they are very expensive. I am hoping that someone can point me in the right direction because we have heard that if we find the right company(s), these lights might not actually be that expensive since there really isn't anything particularly special about them other than the fact that they operate at a shorter wavelength. We might also contact some companies to see if they would be willing to sponsor us, or at least cut us a break since we are students. Of course we would give the company credit and recognition when presenting our completed project to judges and venture capitalists. I would appreciate any information or suggestions that anyone has which might be helpful.

Replies

• Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    Few moths ago I was in one tech fair where one stall was related to your project they are selling such product which is air purifier and it's cost was around 5K INR so i don't think that LEDs are much costly i'll try to contact some dealer and let you know if found any.
  • ChadT
    ChadT
    godfather
    Few moths ago I was in one tech fair where one stall was related to your project they are selling such product which is air purifier and it's cost was around 5K INR so i don't think that LEDs are much costly i'll try to contact some dealer and let you know if found any.