The Big Dilemma: Higher Studies (MS/M.Tech./M.E.) vs IT Job

Hello everyone,

I'm in my final year of B.Tech. CS now. I have been placed in TCS as of now and I also have a GATE score of 464 this year. I'm really confused as to whether I should do my higher studies ( now or ever?) or whether I should take up the job offer at TCS. As far as I know TCS is a very good company and people do some very interesting work there, but sometimes I feel that R&D is way more interesting than IT. And the road to work in a corporate R&D facility is to go for higher studies.

So I guess I need some advice from you guys. Do I do higher studies now (provided of course I get into some good institute like IISc.) or is it something that I can do later on?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Go for higher studies if you have the opportunity. I'd strongly recommend it over choosing an IT job. Indian IT industry is mostly services Industry and to the best of my knowledge, you won't find the work exciting if your interest is in R&D.

However, if you decide to take up the job; you can always go for higher studies later. In that case, I'd suggest minimum 2 years of work experience before you opt for higher studies.
  • indianapple
    indianapple
    Thanks K for your thoughts. Now my question is, after completing the Masters degree, when looking for jobs in R&D how much is it going to matter that I have no experience at all in any job after M.E., if say I go for higher studies immediately after completing my bachelors?

At the same time, after working for say 2 years in IT, how many people actually come back and study? A lot of people I've talked to say that I should do my higher studies now itself, if I'm planning to. But that brings me back to my 1st question.
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    indianapple