Simple explanation of Piezoelectric Effect

Hello, I am Tarun and I am studying electronics engineering. I want to know what is the actual meaning of peizoelectric effect? Please explain it in simple words.

Replies

• Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    The tendency of generating charges when a force is applied on a crystal by external agents
  • Tarun Goel
    Tarun Goel
    Hey then why we don't adopt this tech. in metroes or railways or anywhere, by putting some crystals so that by the mechanical force of us during walking this produce charge and we can store this in some battery .
    OR we can simply use a MAT formed of crystals.
  • Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    The cost and the power they generate are little below efficient

They are under research and can be implemented in a small scale cause of the price tag they come with

Additional circuitory is needed to amplify the power derived from the crystal these circuits consume almost 100 % of power generated by the crystals
  • Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    Steven Brooks
    Hello Members,

'Piezoelectricity' is the ability of certain crystals to produce a voltage when subjected to mechanical stress. Piezoelectric effect is the property of some materials to convert mechanical energy to electrical current.

Thanks and Regards,
    Steven Brooks
    I think you are mistaken pal

The current produced due to piezoelectric effect is called piezoelectricity and the ability of the crystal is called as piezo property and the process involved is called as piezoelectric effect
  • Henri
    Henri
    when pressure is applied on two crystals....a given amount of that pressure causes the generation of a small voltage,,,
  • Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    Henri
    when pressure is applied on two crystals....a given amount of that pressure causes the generation of a small voltage,,,
    I getting a little confused her what do you mean