Should engineering drawing be taught to every engineering student?

I have no idea if "Engineering Drawing" is a part of curriculum in engineering colleges around the world. In India, it is!

I personally enjoyed the subject very much. However, being a software engineer, I never get to apply the techniques I learned in Engineering Drawing.

...and that's the case with a huge number of engineers. What do you think - should engineering drawing be taught to every engineering student?

Replies

• Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Its been taught in my uni. When I did it, I hated it so much. You have to invest so many hours for silly monotonous drawings.

However, its certainly a useful skill to pick up for engineers. I would have loved it if it was taught in a more interesting manner! Its as close as "art" engineers can get.
  • moksh
    moksh
    in our univ it was in the first sem only , and well an introduction or a know how abt this subject is important .... it actually gives the professional outlook of how to make models or represent any thing accurately and systamatically on plane paper. b'cos in any stream on eng. u'll face situation where u have to give a sketch to explain a certain situation in hand. and well i dont think it's abt drawing drawing str8 lines isn't drawing πŸ˜› it's natural πŸ˜€)
  • gohm
    gohm
    Yes, I think it is important to know. You need to know the basics- one must know where you've been in order to know where you are going. Too many people are lost without calculators or computers which I think is sad. I've always been amazed at the math my dad could do in his head by "visualizing a chalkboard" as he's from pre-calculator times. Being too reliant on tech isn't a good thing as you could argue on the blurriness of which is the "engineer" the person or the technology.
  • niniandcat
    niniandcat
    The_Big_K
    I have no idea if "Engineering Drawing" is a part of curriculum in engineering colleges around the world. In India, it is!