operator overloading in C++ using friend function

Hello, this is Nami. I am a student of computer science. While learning C++, I faced a query about operator overloading using friend function. I am pretty clueless about how to code that. Please help me out!

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    namivrm
    operator overloading in C++ using friend function
    Yep, what about it?
  • itchap
    itchap
    // Using friend functions to
    // overload addition and subtarction
    // operators
    #include

class myclass
    {
    int a;
    int b;

public:
    myclass(){}
    myclass(int x,int y){a=x;b=y;}
    void show()
    {
    cout< }

// these are friend operator functions
    // NOTE: Both the operans will be be
    // passed explicitely.
    // operand to the left of the operator
    // will be passed as the first argument
    // and operand to the right as the second
    // argument
    friend myclass operator+(myclass,myclass);
    friend myclass operator-(myclass,myclass);

};

myclass operator+(myclass ob1,myclass ob2)
    {
    myclass temp;

temp.a = ob1.a + ob2.a;
    temp.b = ob1.b + ob2.b;

return temp;
    }

myclass operator-(myclass ob1,myclass ob2)
    {
    myclass temp;

temp.a = ob1.a - ob2.a;
    temp.b = ob1.b - ob2.b;

return temp;
    }

void main()
    {
    myclass a(10,20);
    myclass b(100,200);

a=a+b;

a.show();
    }
    I think you are asking about operator overloading program in C++ using friend function.
    From now onwards please give the exact details about your query.
  • namivrm
    namivrm
    thanks... cn u hlp me in opereator overloading usng member function...
  • itchap
    itchap
    namivrm
    thanks... cn u hlp me in opereator overloading usng member function...
    Yeah I can help you but first of all stop using this sms text in your posts anywhere on CE.
    Now tell me what do you want to know about operator overloading using member function..
  • itchap
    itchap