Need help to start an IT firm

Hi frnds,
I am a final Computer Science Graduate, we are a group of 5 and we want to start a web development company. Can I get help on structure of a company?? From where can we get the projects?? How much to be charged etc.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Welcome to CE, @#-Link-Snipped-# . You already have a team and structuring a company shouldn't be a problem. If all 5 members are founders, you may form a private limited company. The structure may be defined over a period of time based on your individual expertise. You'll need someone to take up the role of CEO, who'll be responsible for overall decision making in the company. I'd also recommend defining roles for marketing, sales, business development & finance.

For web development company - you may find projects locally. It depends on what your offerings are. I'd recommend finding clients locally (colleges, institutes, local organisations etc.) and build a list of clients. Once that is done, you may start applying for projects at Odesk or eLance websites.

Charging will entirely depend on what your services are. If you're developing applications; you should keep in mind the servicing and maintenance charges as well. If you're opting for web development projects; you should make sure that each project makes you enough to handle company's operation costs and leaves you with profits. You will also have to take a look at what your direct competition is charging so that you keep getting repeat work.

I hope this helps. If you have further questions, post them below.
  • Meraj Imran
    Meraj Imran
    Thank you so much Kaustubh!! Your reply really helped us in designing the basic structure for the company. As we are just starting, we first want to start the company by developing the websites by ourselves to the clients for minimum cost in order to make some money and when we start getting good projects, we would like to apply at Odesk. Will it be good??