I want some help in my project

First of all i am happy to be with you all, i am a fourth year electrical engineer , me and my friend are planing to work in a project , and its about controlling home electricty whether by computer using a router or my phone, i know it seem a simple project for some of you , but i need some clue about it , and if there is a more interesting project, tell me about it because this is my final project 😁.

Thankyou

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Eng: Not sure where you're stuck. The project looks interesting enough and it all depends on how you implement it and what feature set you decide.
  • eng_SaLoM
    eng_SaLoM
    Thankyou admin for your fast reply ,, well i weill use a modem, a pic , and ofcourse i will need interface between them, ,, what i am asking is where i can find information that will help me in doing this project,, and if there is anything you can give me advice on , i will be thankful.
  • Rupam Das
    Rupam Das
    eng_SaLoM
    Thankyou admin for your fast reply ,, well i weill use a modem, a pic , and ofcourse i will need interface between them, ,, what i am asking is where i can find information that will help me in doing this project,, and if there is anything you can give me advice on , i will be thankful.
    1) First arrange a PC and Ensure that it has parallel Port. Not Laptop. Ok. PC. New PC will have slots. You can connect a parallel port in slot. If the Slot is not there, you can connect an External one for 7$.

2) Install .Net 2010, if your operating system is Vista 32bit/64 bit or Win7. Else install .Net 2008 for Xp (Sp2 is mandatory)

3) Now parallel port has 8 data pins, 5 control pins. So in a simple way you can control 13 devices efficiently.

4) Hardware Setup.