GATE Or Job? Help me decide

Dear Sir,

I am a graduate of 2012 in Mechanical Engineering. From past two years I am working in Pvt Company and my salary package is also good (4, 32,000 P.A.) but I feel something is missing in my life and I want to do big in my life. So I decided to try for GATE-2015 but I am from middle class family so I can’t quite job and prepare for GATE full time, so I joined weekend coaching classes also. From last 2 weeks I am going to class am studying 3-4 hrs every day. But I am an average student so I didn’t get confidence that I can clear the GATE so my mind is changing now, n I am thinking to stop coaching classes. Please sir help me, Is it possible to Crack GATE with doing 8-9 hr Job???? And after GATE also I have only one option PUS’s, I can’t stop earning money (Family Issues).
So Sir please suggest is it possible to crack GATE with Good Marks (for PSU) with doing job??? N what should i do for that????? Or shall I concentrate on my Job only.
Please suggest me.
Thank you in advance.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Dear #-Link-Snipped-# , welcome to CrazyEngineers. Since your question is more oriented towards career, I've moved it to Career Advice section of CrazyEngineers.

Instead of talking about ways; let's talk about the purpose. Your reasoning to opt for GATE (and PG course) isn't strong enough. If you think 'something is missing'; your first goal should be to find out what is it that's missing - and whether GATE is 'the way' to fill the void. Trust me, if you don't have a very strong reason and belief that GATE is what you should do to achieve your ultimate goal - preparing for GATE is going to be VERY VERY HARD!

It's possible to crack GATE even if you are an average student and are working. If the preparation looks like 'hard work' to you, you shouldn't take the exam. But if you actually 'enjoy' preparing for GATE, cracking GATE will be a cakewalk.