Function of gears in a vehicle?

I'm studying automobiles and have a very basic question - What is the function of 'gear' in a vehicle?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Muhibullah
    function of 'gear' of a vehicle
    It's too difficult to guess what kind of responses you're expecting; but we can always begin with the very basics of the gears. The gears basically transfer the power from the engine to the wheels. I bet you already know that, right? Is there anything very specific you wish to know about the gears? Please ask.
  • Muhibullah
    Muhibullah
    Thanks #-Link-Snipped-#
  • sweet_honey
    sweet_honey
    Muhibullah
    #-Link-Snipped-#
    Gears alone doesn't transfer power to the wheels. The various components are connected in series to transfer the power.

Here is the series:
    Piston--> piston rod--> crankshaft--> crank--> flywheel--> clutch--> gear box--> differential

Differential controls the axle that connects the wheels.
  • mechky
    mechky
    Muhibullah
    what is the function of 'gear' in a vehicle?
    The term 'gear' used in relation to automobiles basically refers to the transmission of a vehicle. Transmission is nothing but assembly of gears. Transmission is a type of gearbox that can be "shifted" to dynamically change the speed-torque ratio. So, the transmission basically receives torque from the engine at one end (through clutch mechanism), modifies torque, and transfers this torque to the drive shaft of the automobile which drives the wheels through a differential mechanism. When you 'shift' the gear you basically mesh two gears with different number of teeth.

When you start the car, you always start in 'first gear'. This first gear gives maximum torque and lowest speed. So after attaining speed you shift to second gear which gives more speed than first gear but less torque. The same follows for subsequent gears.

The images below will help you visualize -

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  • Ammar Aziz
    Ammar Aziz