Engineers can't sell

Hi Folks,

I hope you will excuse the provocative subject line!

Years ago I was a basic mechanical engineer and I knew absolutely nothing about sales. Fast forward hrummph years and I now teach the subject to engineers, techies and scientists of all flavours - see #-Link-Snipped-#

So if there is anyone here who has a question about how to find new business or close more enquiries, I will be happy to have a stab at answering it.

Robert

Replies

• durga ch
    durga ch
    Hi Robert,

Good to see ya in CE . Did Not go through the book inthe link, but the reviews do surely say its a good book ๐Ÿ˜€
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Welcome to CE, Robert. Could you tell us a bit more about your book? Here's my question to you -

What are your tips/suggestions on selling advertising space on CrazyEngineers forum? ๐Ÿ˜€
  • RobertSeviour
    RobertSeviour
    =Could you tell us a bit more about your book? Here's my question to you -

What are your tips/suggestions on selling advertising space on CrazyEngineers forum? ๐Ÿ˜€
    The Seviour Books manual is a condensation of my experiences in technical sales. In the beginning I was completely 'sales-averse', meaning that I thought that engineering was cool and sales stank. Amazingly I discovered that sales is not like that at all and I slowly went through a transition where I discovered the value, both business-wise and in personal development, of learning sales skills. I challenge anyone to read the book and not learn many ideas that do the same for them.

I'd like to see universities teaching much of the contents to engineering students. I was lucky that serendipity brought me into contact with the ideas I relate; many engineers never have that chance and are IMHO the poorer for it.