compressing an ideal gas

hello everyone,
since i am a crazy engineer so i had this crazy doubt that,

If we have an insulted container having a gas like say helium(which is close to ideal gas) and has a piston on top.
Now if we put a weight on the piston and allow the gas to be compressed to some volume will the gas get cooled?

can anyone please can tell whether my reasoning is correct or wrong?

Replies

• devesh9749
    devesh9749
    someone please reply...
  • Jeanius
    Jeanius
    If you're looking at an ideal gas, then you're working with (phonetically) pivnert (PV=nRT).

Both n and R would remain constant throughout the push, so we really need to focus on the PV and T portions. What you'd really have to work out is the ratio between P and V in any specific case, as pressure will increase and volume will decrease. Think of a liquid oxygen tank expelling gas. The nozzle freezes as pressure decreases, right?
  • Ernesha
    Ernesha
    One of the postulates of Kinetic Molecular Theory is that ideal gases have no forces of attraction or repulsion between molecules. So when you compress an IDEAL pressure increases but with the same ratio Volume decreases so in the relation PV=nRT, T is not affected. But in the case of NON-IDEAL gases the force of attractions and repulsions ARE present and so when the gas is compressed it experiences heavy repulsions from the other molecules due to which its rms velocity increases and then K.E and ultimately its Temperature. But in case of IDEAL gases the rms velocity is not altered by the compression.
  • Corvus
    Corvus
    The gas will heat up as you pressurize it
  • g_rakesh2
    g_rakesh2
    devesh9749
    hello everyone,
    since i am a crazy engineer so i had this crazy doubt that,

If we have an insulted container having a gas like say helium(which is close to ideal gas) and has a piston on top.
    Now if we put a weight on the piston and allow the gas to be compressed to some volume will the gas get cooled?