Advice to choose a MS program

i am studying in Btech (electronics and communication engineering)
i planed to study MS program after my engineering
i saw many MS programs but i liked

1. MS (electrical engineering)
2. MS (engineering management)

i am confused in above two options.
i wanted to know future and scope of above MS programs.
And which one would u suggest me to go for

my aim is to enter into areas like project manager, plant manager etc.
and even if possible run my own business in future.
😕😕

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Mak, - may I suggest you to compare the course content and figure out which course looks more interesting to you?

If you are aspiring for management positions, I'd strongly recommend opting for at least 2 years of work experience.

If setting up your own business isn't on top priority; you should follow above advice. If its on high priority, you should consider exploring entrepreneurial opportunities right away. First step should be to get in touch with a successful entrepreneur who's already doing what you aspire to do.
  • mak.3736
    mak.3736
    how about getting a dual degree MS and MBA
    are there any universities offering such degrees in usa or any other country
    is this good ?
  • durga ch
    durga ch
    Frankly speaking, I dont think a degree will entitle you with manager post. it needs a step by step build up and a degree might help you to climb those steps quickly. This is what i deduced.
    Now as of coming to your query , you would need to know the industry before aspiring to become a manager. only then you will be able to fulfill your role as a manager and as BigK already mentioned you would be needing a little work exp to understand .
    Did you go through what sylabus is being offered in both the courses? please go throguh them first. Then you can acess which one would take you more towards your ambition.
  • mak.3736
    mak.3736