Which microcontroller to use?

Hi All,
I am a college student wanting to work on a new project. So far I have been using op-amps and other setups to get what I wanted on this project, but now I want to try microcontrollers (I think it'd be a much simpler setup). I am quite new to the world of microcontrollers and don't know where to even start.

The specifications of the microcontroller I need is that it has: a timer (which is activated only when I push a button), a voltage comparator, and ability to have a logic gate (I would like a NOT and AND gate). I know these are all very simple functionalities, so I don't expect that the chip would be too much (and only need it to be run at ~4.5 volts). Thanks for the help!

Replies

• shahrul
    shahrul
    You need to choose which microcontroller you want to learn like PIC, Atmel or others.
    I'm experience in PIC, so for this I suggest PIC16F877A.
  • AXmichigan
    AXmichigan
    Hi thanks for the help!
    I was thinking about the PIC as well,why do you suggest that one?
  • shahrul
    shahrul
    PIC is easy. I have use MC68K and Fuzzy in Atmel also. Since, I like PIC.
  • Predictor
    Predictor
    AXmichigan
    Hi All,
    I am a college student wanting to work on a new project. So far I have been using op-amps and other setups to get what I wanted on this project, but now I want to try microcontrollers (I think it'd be a much simpler setup). I am quite new to the world of microcontrollers and don't know where to even start.

The specifications of the microcontroller I need is that it has: a timer (which is activated only when I push a button), a voltage comparator, and ability to have a logic gate (I would like a NOT and AND gate). I know these are all very simple functionalities, so I don't expect that the chip would be too much (and only need it to be run at ~4.5 volts). Thanks for the help!
    Have you considered Atmel? Beginners are supported by #-Link-Snipped-#.
  • Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya