Which Audio Format Produces The Best Music Quality?

I'm wondering whether MP3 is the best audio format available to produce the best of the music quality. I've no knowledge of how MP3 compression works, but I'm guessing that it drops several audio components in favor of reducing the file size. I'm also wondering if the bitrate has a big role to play in the audio quality? 320 kbps music sounds way better than 128 kbps to me.

Does anyone here know?

Replies

• Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    Higher the bit rate better the quality of SOund

And mp3 compression is one of the base methods of compression where the Quality loss is higher as it uses modified White noise to reproduce sound

MIDI format is good and consumes very less memory space

Each and every format has it's own plus and minus Hard to differentiate them

Bitrate plays higher role in quality compared to the format of sound
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    MIDI - however is only for the instruments. You can't have voice frequencies in there.
  • Sarathkumar Chandrasekaran
    Sarathkumar Chandrasekaran
    I like .wmv format which can be played by windows media player and it sounds good.
    On bitrate issue-As our CEan said higher the bitrate better the quality obtained(but high memory).
    There are many formats such as .mp3,aac,ogg,midi,wmv,etc but my favourite is wmv.
  • Cyborg 009
    Cyborg 009
    FLAC is the best format which has lossless compression.No data lost so decompressed data is an identical copy of the original audio data.
    Formats like mp3 are based on lossy compression to reduce file size & maintaining acceptable quality level...320k is max bitrate in mp3
    as bitrate gets lower ..original data is lost .& der is distortion due to quantization ..
  • Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare