CrazyEngineers Archive
Old, but evergreen and popular discussions on CrazyEngineers, presented to you in read-only mode.
@Kedar Malwadkar • 23 Jul, 2012

Hello, I am Kedar and I am a crazy Mechanical engineer. I wanted to know what exactly is Wringing of slip gauges? I would appreciate if someone explained the process here. Thanks in advance.

@zaveri • 23 Jul, 2012 • 3 likes Slip gauges are high-precision measuring instruments, used for testing, inspection along with comparators.

Wringing is nothing, but removing the atmospheric air between two mating surfaces of any two gauge blocks, so that the blocks stick to each other due to vaccum.

to do this, hold the two blocks edge-to -edge, and gently push one of the blocks inside so as to make it sit on the other block, completely.
@white_hat • 23 Jul, 2012
Kedar Malwadkar
what is Wringing of slip guages?
You should check out TRIMOS.Google it to find out more.
Measurement labs do not use slip gauges any more,for high precision measurements trimos is used.
@Kedar Malwadkar • 24 Jul, 2012
white_hat
You should check out TRIMOS.Google it to find out more.
Measurement labs do not use slip gauges any more,for high precision measurements trimos is used.
might be, but it's in our syllabus so i need to read that!!!😀😉😎
@Kedar Malwadkar • 24 Jul, 2012 Thanks for the help guys!
@Vinay Mishra • 25 Jan, 2020 • 2 likes

Definition: A slip gauge is a measuring instrument which is used to measure the distance or gap between two join blocks/mesh gear.

We have a range of slip gauges between 0.5 to 100mm.

But sometimes when we have to measure a distance for which the range of slip gauge does not exist then, in this case, we need to stuck two slip gauges of the appropriate range together for measurement. And that stuck operation of two slip gauges is known as wringing of slip gauges.

I hope it helps!

@Karshil Sheth • 26 Jan, 2020 • 1 like