CrazyEngineers Archive
Old, but evergreen and popular discussions on CrazyEngineers, presented to you in read-only mode.
@Jyothi Jo • 01 Jun, 2012
I am a beginner of vlsi designing field could you suggest me the basic and best books as i could understand from the fundamentals needed.
@Harshad Italiya • 01 Jun, 2012
Jyothi Jo
I am a beginner of vlsi designing field could you suggest me the basic and best books as i could understand from the fundamentals needed.
www.books.google.co.in/books/about/Principles_of_CMOS_VLSI_design.html?id=UiBTAAAAMAAJ we used to refer this book.
@Ankita Katdare • 02 Jun, 2012 Here are some other author names too -

1. Cmos Vlsi Design: A Circuits And Systems Perspective, 3/E by Weste Neil H.E., David Hurris
2. Principles CMOS VLSI Design by Weste H.E
3. Basic VLSI design: systems and circuits by Douglas A. Pucknell, Kamran Eshraghian
4. Introduction To Vlsi Circuits And Systems by Jhon.P. Uyemura
@sen n thakkar • 04 Jun, 2012 for practical purpose , pedroni is best..and for theory purpose s.cang is so good.
@Guru Karthik • 13 Jun, 2012 • 2 likes For a beginner Neil Weste is realy good. But I would suggest you go for video lectures as well. Check the ones by Jan M. Rabaey of UCB on youtube.

Analog vlsi by Razavi is a good one but a bit advanced. Also Verilog by Palnitkar and VHDL by J.Bhaskar since these are integral parts of vlsi design.
@Er.Saumil • 17 Jun, 2012
Jyothi Jo
To learn fundamentals in VLSI a book authered by "Sung-Mo-Kang" is good.
@Reya • 17 Jun, 2012 • 1 like
Few books mentioned by Anna University.
TEXT BOOKS
1. D.A.Pucknell, K.Eshraghian, ‘Basic VLSI Design’, 3rd Edition, Prentice Hall of India, NewDelhi, 2003.
2. Eugene D.Fabricius, ‘Introduction to VLSI Design’, Tata McGraw Hill, 1990.

REFERENCES
1. N.H.Weste, ‘Principles of CMOS VLSI Design’, Pearson Education, India, 2002.
2. Charles H.Roth, ‘Fundamentals of Logic Design’, Jaico Publishing House, 1992.