Reading in Data using a microcontroller

I'm not sure how digital serial input is read into the PIC. This is how I would guess it's done. You have a pin configured for input. You then have the first bit of data generate an interrupt. You then poll the input pin to see if the bit is a 1 or 0. You then store this value as the LSB at some location in memory. Then you wait for the next bit to come in. For example if the data is coming in at a rate of 10k bits/s then you would wait 0.1 ms and poll the input pin again and so forth until the MSB bit is read. Is this basically the general idea of how data is read in or does the PIC have a better way of doing it? Thanks for any help. I'm new at this stuff.

Replies

• just2rock
    just2rock
    Serial Input data is read in PIC as regard to the programing done into the microcontroller.Suppose you provide a data of Hex 12C8,then the controller will choose accordingly for its input.
  • el3ktr1k
    el3ktr1k
    I still don't understand how the PIC is able to capture serial data and store it somewhere in memory. For example if I'm sending the binary byte, 01011001, from some to device to the input pin of a PIC, how would the PIC capture this value and store it in memory where I can call upon this value later?
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Ah, heres the thing. I think you can't really send serial data directly into the input pins of the PIC easily (assuming you are talking about the Microchip variants). You'd need to use the Rx/Tx (recieve and transmission) pins to do all serial data communications.