Looking to write GATE on Computer Science

Hello every one...

I am currently working as an IT Consultant and Developer in a reputed firm after obtaining my undergraduate engineering degree in Production and Industrial Engg.

However the theoretical aspects of computer science have always interested my though I had to enter in to a different field as my family willed me to get admission in to a reputed college even if the stream was not exactly my choice.

Anyway, to make a long story short, I am now seeing that with my current qualifications, I can only stay in the service industry, and to be in the Product Engg and Development field, I need a degree in CS. So I am thinking about writing the GATE on CS.

Now the thing is I have been working for almost 4 years now, and I will need to brush up even on my 11th/12th level maths before I can dip in to the Engg Mathematics for GATE, though I daresay I wasnt too dull in that dept .. ๐Ÿ˜›

We now have a little over 8 months remaining before GATE 2012, and if I spend 3-4 weeks on the brush up and leave the last month for no new topic and only revision, I have a little over 6 months in between to complete the GATE syllabus for completing the syllabus up to a level to get a good score. In addition to that I am working at the moment, for which I have to put in at 9-10 hrs a day.

I have just one question at the moment..

Is it Doable ?

If you guys say it is.. and I can get the confidence.. I will come back with more questions again.

Thanks for any one who looks in to the post, and double thanks to any one who takes some time to reply with his/her views.. ๐Ÿ˜€

Replies

• Pensu
    Pensu
    I appeared for GATE in 2011 and i think its possible to complete the syllabus in 6 months. Looking at your condition, like you have to work and you are out of touch for some time, still i think its doable, as 6 months is a sufficient amount of time. Start studying and All The Best...!!!!
  • apollo
    apollo