Inside a calculator

HELLO,
I am an electronics and communication engineer persuing third year.I opened a calculator and was amused to find that it contains only a lcd, a chip and a ciruit layout that helps in the input through the keypad.Now my mind is boggling as to what is there in that chip that makes a calculator work.There may be some programming about which I am sure. But I want a detailed information as to how all this happens. Can some one help me please.

Replies

• Saandeep Sreerambatla
    Saandeep Sreerambatla
    In general words , Calculator works on the calculations using logic gates.
    It involves CMOS (Complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor) Technology for the circuit.
  • nenuadwani
    nenuadwani
    Ya I am aware of that. I have found out that a small IC is attched to the chip which stores the programming. But the model i opened had the circuit made on a polythene like structure and the circuit was painted with black similar to a layout on a PCB. I still want to know the detailed working.
  • Saandeep Sreerambatla
    Saandeep Sreerambatla
    you can design a basic calculator using logical gates rite?
  • nenuadwani
    nenuadwani
    thats right. But what about the plastic material on which the circuit is drawn. How signals move through that?
  • aj_onduty
    aj_onduty
    nenuadwani
    thats right. But what about the plastic material on which the circuit is drawn. How signals move through that?
    Are you talking about the printed circuit board?
  • shreyasm89
    shreyasm89
    @aj-No buddy...he is already aware of a PCB.In fact he expected to find a PCB inside but instead found a black polythylene-like material.
    @nenu-The small chip that you are mentioning is the microcontroller IC. Was that black material between the numeric keypad & the chip?
  • patsham
    patsham
    you can show us the picture of that circuit so that we can help you.
  • nenuadwani
    nenuadwani