Can a microcontroller do this????

Okay im a newbie to Microcontrollers so dont yell at me too loud. I have a project I am working on. Basically I need to use 5 switches to act like 10. here are my thoughts of how I want it to work and someone tell me if a microcontroller can do this.. Then I will start studying micros..

I have 5 momentary switches.. Lets say Pushbuttons. How they connect to the microcontroller isnt important to me- Shorting 2 inputs together or shorting an input to ground when the button is pressed are both acceptable.

The outputs need to short 2 connection points together (Hopefully without relays) so lets say by pressing the button on input#1, I want outputs# 1 and 2 to short together.

That would be the first question- can the controller do that???

Now IF the controller can do that we can move on. Lets simplify the idea by sayign the circuit has 1 pushbutton (input) and 4 ouput wires. lets see if I can draw it:

Okay picture didnt work- Imagine 1 or 2 wire input and 4 wire outputs (numbered 1-4)

Okay so "in1" and "in2" are connected to the momentary Push button. Pushing the button shorts them together.

When I briefly press the pushbutton, I want the micro to short outputs 1 and 2 together for 1 second

When I press the pushbutton quickly twice (press for one second, release, press again for one second) I want the micro to short outputs 3 and 4 together for 1 second

BUT if I press and hold the pushbutton for more then 3 seconds, I want the micro to short outputs 1 and 2 together for 3 second.

Does that make sense? So if all that can work, then I will have 5 pushbuttons, and 20 output lines. Is that possible?

Timing isnt super sensetive so changes can be made to that. I can use more than one Micro if needed. I really dont want to use relays if possible... cuz I would need 10 of them๐Ÿ˜”