About timer operation in 8051 micro controller

I AM STUDYING MICROCONTROLLER 8051 SUBJECT, WHILE DOING PROGRAM OF TIMER OPERATION, I HAVE FOUND SOME PROBLEM IN THE MODE 2 OF TIMER OPERATION IN WHICH CONTENTS PRESENT IN THx IS AUTO RELOADED INTO THE TLx AND WHEN TLx BECOMES 00H TFx FLAG GOES HIGH AND CONTENTS AGAIN AUTO RELOADED INTO THE TLx FROM THx.
BUT THERE IS A PROBLEM WHEN TIMER STARTS BY SETTING THE TRx BIT HIGH, THE TLx STARTS FROM 00H INSTEAD OF STARTING WITH THE CONTENTS OF THx. TLx ALWAYS STARTS WITH 00H.
I HAVE ALSO ATTACHED THE IMAGE OF MY PROGRAM THAT I HAVE WRITTEN IN KEIL SOFTWARE WHERE IN THE RED CIRCLE I HAVE SHOWN THE CONTENTS OF THE TH AND TL REGISTER.

Replies

• Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    #-Link-Snipped-# can you share your keil project .zip file here?
  • sparsh sharma
    sparsh sharma
    Harshad Italiya
    #-Link-Snipped-# can you share your keil project .zip file here?
    #-Link-Snipped-#
    i have written just a small program to check the working of timer in mode 2.
  • IanSiladi
    IanSiladi
    The problem is looking in your code. Are you enable to put the count that should be copied into the TL from the TH?
    Also what about your interrupt handling?
    Are you using any kind of the hardware interrupt here, specially for your timer-counter?

#-Link-Snipped-#
  • sparsh sharma
    sparsh sharma
    IanSiladi
    The problem is looking in your code. Are you enable to put the count that should be copied into the TL from the TH?
    Also what about your interrupt handling?
    Are you using any kind of the hardware interrupt here, specially for your timer-counter?
    This code is written just for the purpose of understanding the Timer operation in MODE 2 of 8051uc. i have also simulate it on keil uvision3 software. the snap shot of the output i have attached.
    and count in TL0 is loaded with TH0 contents only if TF0 is made high internally, initially TL0 starts with 00h.