What is the physical significance of momentum?

Hello all again, I am a Mechanical engineer from Mathura and I want to know what is the physical significance of momentum? Any kind of explanation, links, videos or tutorials will be of help. So, please reply. 👍

Replies

• lovejeet
    lovejeet
    physical significance?? hmm... u can easily see that in day to day life. like if a bus or vehicle is overloaded, it is difficult to stop it because of the momentum added because of added weight. or a bullet is able to damage because of its large momentum.
  • mechky
    mechky
    Momentum gives an idea or an estimate of the amount of force required to make an object move or to stop a moving object.
    Momentum equation consists of two quantities - mass and velocity. Greater is the mass, greater is the property of inertia. According to first law, greater is mass greater is force required to make an object move or stop a moving object. This means that greater is the momentum, greater will be the force required to stop. The second quantity - velocity, tells how fast an object is moving. If velocity is high, then high amount of force will be required to stop.
  • zaveri
    zaveri
    momentum is a function of the mass and velocity of the body.

momentum is the phenomenon behind the working of flywheels. the flywheel due to its heavy mass does not start rotating once the power stroke ends, but its rotation causes the piston to do the exhaust, suction and compression strokes.

the equations of kinetic energy and potential energy are also based on momentum.
  • nibhani
    nibhani
    i m not satisfied with ur answer zaveri...i want to know physical significance of momentum...
  • zaveri
    zaveri
    nibhani
    i m not satisfied with ur answer zaveri...i want to know physical significance of momentum...
    momentum is a kind of force which a body develops by virtue of its velocity, as well as its mass.