What is the life span of a cable modem?

What is the typical shelf life of a modem? I have a modem that was bought new an year ago.
Is it the case that it's performance deteriorates after a period of time?

Some friends told me that they replace it every 10 months. ๐Ÿ˜ฒ

PS: I have no knowledge about the topic. So please be detailed in your replies. ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Replies

• silverscorpion
    silverscorpion
    Replacing a modem every 10 months?? phew....

I have been using the same modem for the past 2.5 years, and I'm positive I don't experience any degradation in performance whatsoever.

Usually, there is no such life expectancy for electronics. They usually function well as long as the parts inside are good. Unless you short a circuit path in the board or something, the same modem will do just fine until you need more speed which the modem can't cope up with.
  • Sahithi Pallavi
    Sahithi Pallavi
    I have been using my modem for the past 2 years. And now it looks like it's time for me to replace it. It is taking some 15 minutes to switch on all its lights & to connect and sometimes even more ๐Ÿ˜”. I have to wait till then. Customer care says that the life time of the modem is just 2 years ๐Ÿ˜•
  • Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    Sada
    I have been using my modem for the past 2 years. And now it looks like it's time for me to replace it. It is taking some 15 minutes to switch on all its lights & to connect and sometimes even more ๐Ÿ˜”. I have to wait till then. Customer care says that the life time of the modem is just 2 years ๐Ÿ˜•
    Yeah. My modem is yet to show any signs of dying. ๐Ÿ˜› But I want to know if people really "replace" their modems eventually.

You are reading an archived discussion.

Related Posts

European LSA (Light Sport Aircraft) manufacturer has launched Pipistrel ALPHA Trainer $83000; which is way cheaper than the $100k LSAs used for training pilots. The aircraft is ideal choice for...