The world our parents and education prepared us for is not there anymore.. now what?

There was always consensus in my family and society as a whole that getting a degree was important and would lead to a great career with a well payed job. #-Link-Snipped-# why it's soon not that big deal anymore. Have recently graduated and been pursuing a few job openings with mixed success. I have studied loads but I know nothing and the companies want employers who can be put to good use right away. Sure a degree helps but it’s not nearly as important as it used to be.

I find it hard to figure out where to focus my energy since I have a degree and have been schooled in the old way of doing things but when I look ahead I see numerous new skills that I lack or that has to be re learnt.

Somewhat incoherent but imagine a fish-amphibian eustenopteron crawling out of the water for the first time, well that's me.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# : That's not just your story. I think that's almost everyone's story here. It's a fact that the education systems have been designed in a way to create instruction following robots than well-informed individuals. I have a degree in Electrical Engineering and my course only involved learning the theories. The only place where we put those theories to work was in the labs and that was the end of it.

The degree was never important and it's just that people have begin realizing it now.

However, there's no reason to worry. You'll always advance to a stage where you will find that you need more skills for the next level. It's like a video game - you equip yourself with 'lives' or 'points' and move over to the next difficult level where you find that you need more of those to go to the next level. It just continues throughout the game.