recharging the battery of electric vehicle while it is running

hi CE's. i am a mechanical engineering student. for our mini project we are trying to do project on recharging the battery of electric vehicle while it s in motion. the options are by coupling an alternator(ie dc generator) to drive motor shaft and using the generated voltage and also installing solar panels which produces electricity when vehicle is used in day light.
can u people please help me for betterment of my project. are there any things much better that can be added to this concept ? please help.
thanks is advance.😀

Replies

• gohm
    gohm
    what about using the brakes to charge?
  • Differential
    Differential
    Hi and welcome to the forum!
    Here, I would want to underline the law of conservation of energy. "Energy can neither be created nor destroyed, it can be simply converted from one form to another".

Now, when you say, recharging battery when the vehicle is moving, you will use energy from battery itself. So isn't it like charing a battery using another battery?

Solar panels are the only extra source here. You can directly charge your battery using solar insted of using motion of a vehicle (Kinetic Energy).

Again, charging battery using brakes is conversion of Mechanical energy from human muscles into electrical energy. This is possible, but some part of your force will be used for recharging and remaining for braking.

Let me know what you guys think ! 😀
  • raj87verma88
    raj87verma88
    Some crazy ideas:-
    1) Using heat dissipated due to friction when brakes are applied
    2) Making use of the rotation of drive shaft to rotate dynamos
    3) When a vehicle moves the wind flows around it, rather the vehicle moves through it but the concept of windmill may be used to convert the Kinetic Energy of wind
    4) Solar Panels
    5) Fuel Cell