need to know about vortex tube

hello guys

I m a mechanical engg i studied a lot about vortex tube and its application i wanted to know is there any way i can make it i was planning to make 1 i need suggestions for designing and various other parameters to finish it any 1 intrested can pls reply and help me

i saw some links on vortex tubes here are those -https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vortex_tube

guys can chck it out and suggestions r most welcomed

waiting for some good response 😁

Replies

• Rohan_sK
    Rohan_sK
    The concept of VORTEX TUBES is indeed an intriguing Mechanical Phenomena. A very simple yet absolutely fascinating phenomena of Thermal and Fluid Dynamics.

The idea of transfering the heat of faster moving particles to slower ones and achieving variable tempreature and using centrifugal forces in a spiral, for the same, is wonderful.

It can be an alternative to small capacity Refrigeration, but the Efficiency of this system is not better than other Low end refeigeration systems and is highly dictated by the Dimensions of the Hot End pipe, the degree of compression by setting the Stop Cock , and the Washer Diameter.

The idea and the concept of working is though quite simple, the implementation of the same for practical purposes was in itself a different approach by the French scientist who first developed this concept and made basic designs.
    It was then developed by the Germans with some improvisations.

This apparatus does not have moving parts , so problems like mechanical losses due to motion, and vibrations is ruled out.

@Lolly : I think there is no commercial production of this apparatus on large scale due to no certain set standards to its dimensions and size.

I think all you need to experiment is with some very basic plumbing materials like :

1. Two normal CI pipes or tubes ( any other material like plastic would do)

2. A self designed SPIRAL CHAMBER which is the heart of this apparatus.