need CAD and CFD software for linux

hey guys..help me out. i'm a mechanical engineering student using linux(ubuntu 7.10) and i need to install a 3-D modeling software. please suggest a good open source software. also, i need a good CFD software. found a software called openFOAM. is it good?

Replies

• einstein89
    einstein89
    joe3204
    hey guys..help me out. i'm a mechanical engineering student using linux(ubuntu 7.10) and i need to install a 3-D modeling software. please suggest a good open source software. also, i need a good CFD software. found a software called openFOAM. is it good?
    no idea abt open FOAM ,
    but QCAD is used for cad
    almost like auto cad
    i have tested it wid Sabayon and Knoppix DVD
    pls search for tht for ubumtu
    i had used 3D wings in knoppix dvd ,
    pls search tht for ubuntu too
    good 3D software!
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    I believe QCAD is a 2D CAD application, not 3D. For the latter, try giving BRL-CAD a shot: BRL-CAD: Open Source Solid Modeling
  • raj87verma88
    raj87verma88
    Do Pro/E, Ansys, Catia work on Ubuntu Linux
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    I believe they are not really designed and compiled for Linux systems. Catia is especially optimized for Windows. I doubt they have native Linux versions.

Anyway, you can still run them in Virtual machines like WINE, but the performance might dip.
  • raj87verma88
    raj87verma88
    @Ash: I was working on Windows till two days back. My computer got infected with a virus and had to format the disk and then started to reinstall windows. Was getting a problem with the sound card(it had happened earlier and I somehow solved the problem but this time couldn't). A friend of mine also tried but failed. He had a CD of Ubuntu Linux 8.04 and installed it on my PC. Therefore, I am new to Linux but have till now found out that wine may be used for running programmes made for windows and exe files do not run on linux and some more.