joe3204
joe3204
Branch Unspecified
23 Jun 2008

need CAD and CFD software for linux

hey guys..help me out. i'm a mechanical engineering student using linux(ubuntu 7.10) and i need to install a 3-D modeling software. please suggest a good open source software. also, i need a good CFD software. found a software called openFOAM. is it good?
einstein89

einstein89

Branch Unspecified
10 years ago
joe3204
hey guys..help me out. i'm a mechanical engineering student using linux(ubuntu 7.10) and i need to install a 3-D modeling software. please suggest a good open source software. also, i need a good CFD software. found a software called openFOAM. is it good?
no idea abt open FOAM ,
but QCAD is used for cad
almost like auto cad
i have tested it wid Sabayon and Knoppix DVD
pls search for tht for ubumtu
i had used 3D wings in knoppix dvd ,
pls search tht for ubuntu too
good 3D software!
Ashraf HZ

Ashraf HZ

Communications
10 years ago
I believe QCAD is a 2D CAD application, not 3D. For the latter, try giving BRL-CAD a shot: BRL-CAD | Open Source Solid Modeling
raj87verma88

raj87verma88

Branch Unspecified
10 years ago
Do Pro/E, Ansys, Catia work on Ubuntu Linux
Ashraf HZ

Ashraf HZ

Communications
10 years ago
I believe they are not really designed and compiled for Linux systems. Catia is especially optimized for Windows. I doubt they have native Linux versions.

Anyway, you can still run them in Virtual machines like WINE, but the performance might dip.
raj87verma88

raj87verma88

Branch Unspecified
10 years ago