MS Colleges

Hi Everyone,

I am Manu, I am a BE graduate in CS. I want to pursue higher studies through distance learning program. I have 3 years of experience in IT.

Can you please suggest some good colleges which provide MS courses through distance learning. Is it required that the university should be AICTE recognised?

Regards,
Manu

Replies

• Aashish Joshi
    Aashish Joshi
    AICTE recognition is advised, as there are many fly-by-night operators whose sole purpose is to dupe unsuspecting students.

Also, verify claims made by any university (unless it is very well known) of accreditation to AICTE.
  • Manu77
    Manu77
    Thank you for your immediate response. I checked some of the sites which says more about BITS. It is not recognised by AICTE where as Manipal is AICTE recogonised. I heard BITS is famous. Which one would you suggest? and what is the scope of doing part time MS compared to full time.
  • Aashish Joshi
    Aashish Joshi
    If you want to work while pursuing your post grad, then of course distance learning/part time is your only option. However, if you want to concentrate on your post grad, I would recommend you pursue a full time course.

Both Manipal and BITS are good institutes. Some points of comparision:

1. Course being offered, if possible try to access the course content (subjects in a course, ,etc)

2. Feedback from alumni

3. Try and find out which college is famous for which course..For exapmle manipal may be famous for course A, whereas BITS for course B. Decide which course you would like to pursue.

4. What does the fee include (hostel charges, mess charges, laundry if available, etc)

These are just some points to consider before you decide to zero in on any college

[EDIT]
    Which BITS are you talking about??
  • Manu77
    Manu77
    yes, thats true. At present I cant think of full time. I want to pursue MS through distance.