Making a clock play a song

Hey, I'm a Computer Engineering student, with some minimal experience in Electrical Engineering so far. My friend asked me how I could make a clock, preferably mechanical, play a song (just one particular song, actually) at a particular time. Now she doesn't want a simple alarm clock or iPod dock, she would like me to actually make it, circuits or not. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Even if I get my hands on some sensors and stuff to detect the correct time, how do I translate that into playing the song? How do I play the song in the first place? How do you play a song in a circuit? Is it possible to harness the power of those electronic greeting cards that play songs? Thanks.

Yes, I know this is an absurd request/task, but any help would be appreciated.

Replies

• sauravgoswami
    sauravgoswami
    Hello Uttaresh,well you can make one for that you need a crystal,digital counter ,audio processor,memory and speakers, the circuit is easily available on internet or EFY site,do check!!!
  • aj_onduty
    aj_onduty
    On both the hands of the clock, keep a tiny magnet each(preferably a rare earth magnet, you will get it in a hardware shop). And at every minute point, keep a reed switch each. connect all the reed switches to a microcontroller. They should be defined. I will tell you the idea in a better format after some time, currently I am busy. Try finding out the rest idea from the clue.bye for now.
  • bill190
    bill190
    The following program will play 3 different RTTTL tunes on a Parallax Basic Stamp microcontroller. These are the tunes which play on cell phones, so plenty of different tunes out there. Search for RTTTL. The following program is at the maximum memory available for that microcontroller, so if you wanted a different tune, you should replace one of the existing tunes. Here is the basic stamp link...
    #-Link-Snipped-#

Here is a link to the program...
    #-Link-Snipped-#
  • bill190
    bill190