Lift Mechanism (Step-on)

Hello everyone,

I am a computer engineer and kinda venturing out to work on a different project. I am attempting to build a lift that raises a platform when someone steps on a pedal. I really need the lift to raise a platform 16" when someone steps down only 4" on a pedal. I can't use any hydraulics or electricity. Only the stepping down motion needs to raise the lift. I can use pulleys, gears, scissor lifts, etc...

Here are two pictures displaying what I am trying to do. I drew the pictures to scale so you can have an idea on how big the lift and wall are. Any help is greatly appreciated. What is the best way to accomplish this...Or is this even possible?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks-
Kyle

Replies

• gohm
    gohm
    Can you use counter weights?
  • Rohan_sK
    Rohan_sK
    How about using two pairs of Chain and Sprocket to achieve the type of motion mentioned.

The Step platform would be attatched to some links of the chain permanently which would move the chain by certain distance per step taken.

The chain would run vertically along the height of the wall and at the both top and bottom it would run over a turning sprocket. These sprockets will only provide for the turning of the chain at both the top and bottom thus making a loop of the chain running over these two sprockets.

There would be another sprocket mounted on a shaft with its teeth meshing with the chain links. This sprocket would be placed in the centre of the wall height. So for any step taken the vertical translational motion will be converted into rotational motion.

This shaft will also have a Gear wheel mounted on it along the length so that the gear turns along wih any rotation of the sprocket.

There will be an exactly same arrrangement in the reverse order on the other side with similar engagement.

This means that the gear on shaft one will engage with another gear mounted on the second shaft which also has a sprocket mounted on it as in the first arrangement.