Know Your CEan – Shalini Goel

CEans,
She is one of the most active crazy engineers on CE. A software engineer by profession, she's got JAVA-solutions to most of the problems! CrazyEngineers community is proud to have her in the team. Our editor in chief, CEan- MayurPathak chatted with Shalini Goel to know more about her -
Shalini: Well, I can't believe today I am an engineer. Year 2001-2005 was the toughest part of my life until I got the job. I belong from a family where people don't prefer girl's education. They want them to get married as earlier as possible. My father was always an inspiration for me. Today also I can't forget his words "My daughters are my sons". Somewhere it was his dream that today I am an engineer. I have a story behind becoming an engineer. I wish once I achieve something in my life, I can share my story with the whole world. Right now hats off to my mother.

Coming to the Roorkee, unfortunately no mountains here, it lies in plains only and famous only for IIT Roorkee (Earlier Roorkee University) and military camp. If anyone want to see mountains go to Mussorie, Nainital, Pauri Garhwal, Haldwani, Rishikesh, Pantnagar, Dehradun etc. They all are in Uttaranchal only.

Q: You work in one of the largest Financial Software companies in the world. But I remember you were the one who wrote to me and biggie about your dissatisfaction with the job right? Tell us more about what you do, what you like and don't like about Oracle.

Shalini: It is not the same company that I joined. Unfortunately, we have been taken over by a big software company which is mainly interested only our flagship product. I like only this new brand to be very honest and nothing else. The bigger the company is, the more bad policies they have. We are just a subsidiary of the bigger company that acquired us. I miss my old company.