Java basics: Why is overriding used?

I couldnt get the benefit of overriden methods !! Why overriding is used ? Is it a feature or demerit of java ? Methods declared in any interface need to be overriden or implemented by some other class ?

Replies

• The_Small_k
    The_Small_k
    Overriding a method in a subclass is the concept come under OOP's.
    Abstraction is one another feature of OOP's that will be let you override the super class methods in sub classes.
    If you implement an interface you have to override all the methods in it or you can take the adapter classes in between them if you don't want to override all or want to use some of them only.
  • durga ch
    durga ch
    I am not a professional programmer. As what I learnt, consider you have a class living creature and you have a method motion , breathe, yawn, sleep, run, eat etc.

now when you are defining say new classes of a man and a seal , both of them have few methods in common, so both man and seal can be derive from animal class, but man can walk(motion) and a seal crawls(motion), only because there is difference in how they move, you wont end up re-writing a complete new class. that is when methods are overridden. to customise them .

CS CEans: you are absolutely welcome to correct my view.
  • Alok mishra
    Alok mishra
    Thanx durga
  • Alok mishra
    Alok mishra
    While creating threads either we implement runnable or extend thread class , in both cases we override run method . I want to know if overriding has its worth only with abstract methods or if not so then how ,the methods which are mostly overriden, behaves in its actual form ?
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    @#-Link-Snipped-# - Please avoid starting separate threads on the similar topics and always provide a very appropriate title to the discussions. It helps others quickly understand what the topic is about.
  • Anoop Kumar
    Anoop Kumar