Is there a good chance to do well as a Mechanical Design Consultant?

Hi, I am a Mechanical Engineer with 15+ years in Design-EOT cranes, Material handling systems, Automation systems, Fabrication as well.

Presently I am 39 years.

After working for companies @16 years, I want to start my own Design Firm (Consultancy-Proprietorship). Preparing Business Plan also. I have a back up for my expenses for a year (can take care of a family for a year without earning). 

Still, have fear in mind -can I get enough work? No doubt about how I will deliver as I am good at Design, Concepts, Calculations, 2D and 3D. Doubt about sustainability, getting the work as there are already players in the field who are doing the similar work. Can anyone help me out in this? Is there a good chance to do well as a Mechanical Design Consultant? Do not want to do a Job again.

Replies

• Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath

There are many small mechanical design firms doing a good job. Maybe you could visit Industrial Design Centre at IIT Bombay and discuss with the faculty about possibilities.

IDC School of Design, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay(IIT Bombay), India

• Sachin Kulkarni
    Sachin Kulkarni

Thank you Ramani Sir

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare

I've been through the process, #-Link-Snipped-# . It's a tough decision; but not an impossible one. 

I'd strongly suggest starting with small projects which you can deliver in your part time. If possible, take an unpaid leave for about 1-2 months and try delivering the projects that you undertake. 

There are key points I'd like you to be aware of -

1. Technical knowledge is just a small aspect of running a business
    2. The major part where most techies stumble is the 'sales' process
    3. Maintaining a discipline is another challenge. It's far easier to do a job when someone else sets a target for you and you've to deliver it without really figuring out other aspects of business.