Intelligent Traffic Light System

Hey all,
Couple of years ago,when i was an engineering student I tried to develop an intelligent traffic control light system.
Back then I observed a lot of pollution at the traffic lights and the wastage of the energy resource gasoline.Green light was on even though there were no vehicles in that direction.This made me think and the result Intelligent traffic control system(Not completed).
My design outlook was something like this,
A Microcontroller which will use the input from the pressure sensors on the road some 100 to 500 mts away from the traffic light.Microcontroller will calculate the number of vehicles,load of vehicles and depending on that time for a particular direction is calculated as against the traditional fixed time control systems.everything was fine but i was unable to create usable pressure sensor.Readymade sensors were very costly.My question is any one has any idea for an alternative for the sensor or changes to the design outlook .

thanks
Bobby

Replies

• Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Hey Bobby,
    I suppose those ready made sensors are expensive because you'd need to measure loads of up a couple of tonnes!

If you can exempt that variable, you can try using proximity sensors or laser sensors to detect the presence of vehicles. Also, you don't need to dig up the road to install these sensors, unlike the pressure ones.
  • MaRo
    MaRo
    Can't it be like a camera that can recognize the pattern of the cars, pattern recognition technique to recognize the pressure of cars.
  • KINETIC_JOULES
    KINETIC_JOULES
    How about something like they use on the railroads? I think, there is a censor that detects when the train has passed that leads to the mechanics in the arms that go across the road. I know I may not make any sense, but what I'm trying to say is maybe it would be just as simple as a censor that detects when the cars have passed and there is no more traffic flow in that direction.
  • Ashraf HZ