1. Home >
  2. Apps >
  3. Groups >

How to permanently delete Gmail or Facebook account?

Question asked by arjun srivastav in #Coffee Room on Jan 13, 2013
arjun srivastav
arjun srivastav · Jan 13, 2013
Rank D3 - MASTER
How to delete profile & information from Gmail & Facebook? I wish to know how to completely remove the gmail or facebook accounts? Posted in: #Coffee Room
Kaustubh Katdare
Kaustubh Katdare · Jan 13, 2013
Rank A1 - PRO
You can delete the accounts that you created, be it Facebook or Gmail. But the companies will take their own twists and turns before the account is finally deleted. You may delete your Gmail account by going into account settings. Gmail will typically keep copies of your mail on their servers for 60 days. In case of Facebook, it's more complicated. They first 'deactivate' your account and then give you all the reasons you shouldn't delete your account. They'll allow you to 'block' the account first and then keep sending you invitations from your friends, so that you go back and reactivate it.

I believe for Facebook, it's about 6 months of time required before you can really delete your account.
zaveri
zaveri · Jan 16, 2013
Rank A3 - PRO
The_Big_K

You are quite right about facebook. i have been trying to get rid of my fb account for the past 4 years.
ISHAN TOPRE
ISHAN TOPRE · Feb 4, 2013
Rank A2 - PRO
The_Big_K
I believe for Facebook, it's about 6 months of time required before you can really delete your account.
But does it mean that facebook/ other social networking sites will lose all the data(after 6 months) I have shared, posted? Or do they remain in possession of the same?
Kaustubh Katdare
Kaustubh Katdare · Feb 4, 2013
Rank A1 - PRO
Issue
But does it mean that facebook/ other social networking sites will lose all the data(after 6 months) I have shared, posted? Or do they remain in possession of the same?
I'm not aware of the updated policies. But the only reliable way to store your data is to keep it in your own HDD or burn it on DVDs.

I'd like to believe that once the account is deleted, they'll delete all the photos you've uploaded. But it's quite possible that they'll store your data in case you 'return'. Facebook is pretty notorious when it comes to letting go of the user data they've collected (which basically is their bread and butter).

You must log-in or sign-up to reply to this post.

Click to Log-In or Sign-Up