How to check the verticality of High rise building?

Hi!
All , I am totally new to the forum. But i was really moved by the idea CE has come up with; to get in touch with Engineers all over the world. As a Engineer it feels really great to be a part of CE forum.
I am a Civil Engineer & I want to know how to check the verticality of high rise building? What are the instruments used? and every possible information that needs to be kept in mind during construction of high rise building.😕

Come on friends pour in..

Sham

Replies

• Differential
    Differential
    The conventional and widely used method is "Tie a small object to a thread and suspend it free from top". The thread will indicate absolute vertical direction ! Won't it ?
  • gohm
    gohm
    wow, hope you have long string! lol. I'm no civil expert however I believe they have a sight/scanner that can measure?
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    gohm
    wow, hope you have long string! lol. I'm no civil expert however I believe they have a sight/scanner that can measure?
    Yea, I think they use those laser sights like the ones they use in surveying, albeit the "vertical" version.
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Differential
    The conventional and widely used method is "Tie a small object to a thread and suspend it free from top". The thread will indicate absolute vertical direction ! Won't it ?
    I always wondered why this method was used. You see, the tiny objects would point to the center of the Earth. Therefore, the opposite faces of the building would end-up forming the upper part of the 'V'. 😁

LASER would be the right thing to use, IMHO.
  • Differential
    Differential
    I always wondered why this method was used. You see, the tiny objects would point to the center of the Earth. Therefore, the opposite faces of the building would end-up forming the upper part of the 'V'. :grin:
    Agreed.....theorotically.
    But this won't affect small constructions, I guess..