help with computer science GATE preparation

I'm currently in my 4th semester and i want to appear for GATE after I complete my engineering. I want to prepare from now bcoz it's always good to be prepared prior to everyone.
but i dont have anyone who could help me so i want to know how&when do i start, what books i read, etc. I want to know everything to succeed.
PREFERABLY THE ONE'S WHO ALREADY CLEARED GATE REPLY TO THIS THREAD. Otherwise if a novice want to help me .. I'm fine with it also.😀

Replies

• Reya
    Reya
    Read the GATE Syllabus for computer science.List out the subjects and start studying the text books first.
  • surbhi bakshi
    surbhi bakshi
    Reya
    Read the GATE Syllabus for computer science.List out the subjects and start studying the text books first.
    yeah I got my syllabus.. Do I require tuition for proper guidance?
  • simplycoder
    simplycoder
    surbhi bakshi
    yeah I got my syllabus.. Do I require tuition for proper guidance?
    Well tution or no tution is not to worry much. Now you are in your 4th sem, so you have to deal with 4th sem subjects as well. You are planning to give GATE after engineering(considering 8 semester course) so atleast 2 more years to go. In that you have to get good marks or atleast the threshold where in you can get into IITs or other institute you prefer. So I don't really think you should bother about GATE coaching much.

Saying above,you can prepare for GATE by your own. Study your current subjects to a depth. Refer reference books, in case you are studing for subject X, then I would suggest to go for a reference book on X. Gain a good foundation. 15 days before you sem exam, you refer to local publication, it will help to score marks.

Basic idea of your preparation should be gaining good foundation.

In case of some doubt, post it here, fellow CEans would be glad to help you out.
    Take care.
  • Suresh Manickam
    Suresh Manickam