Engineering Students Have No Respect For Lecturers

When I interact with engineering students I see a deep decline in the respect they have for their lecturers. In my times (I graduated in the first half of last decade) we never used our lecturer's first names in our conversations and whenever we talked about them, their names were used with respect. But looks like times have changed. One can't figure out whether the students are talking about a lecturer or a friend.

I believe the shift's happened because of the declining quality of lecturers as well. Lecturers who're just grads are most of the times employed by the colleges. These lecturers have no deep knowledge of their subjects and it makes the students lose respect for them.

What do you think?

Replies

• Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    *deep decline in the respect* - I agree
    Respect for any person comes first from his/her knowledge and dignity & later due to his age. (though both have to be considered)
    In our college, what they call 'senior lecturers' have no idea about the basics of computer science. They argue with students about unnecessary issues just to show that they are in power & can 'control' students. Had they any knowledge, they wouldn't have to prove that they are in power.

And it's futile to talk about the younger ones.
    I expected a lot from young lecturers. They must have fresh ideas and must be ready to bring forth newer ideas/ways of explaining things, but all I see is their reluctance to teach. They are often found sulking about how they have to do a lecturer-job because they couldn't get placed in the campus recruitment. They are always behind shortcuts. Ready-made notes & presentations from the internet are provided.
    What a great example they set before first year students. ๐Ÿ˜
  • Saandeep Sreerambatla
    Saandeep Sreerambatla
    The deep decline is due the one big problem.