Embedded Board unstable??

Hi guys,

Any embedded-hardware experts out there to help me ??

I hav a board built for a personal media player application.
it consists:
A Mips Processor
NOR Flash
2 Samsung 64Mb RAM
RS232
Audio Decoder etc.

When i turn the board on,it starts playing the videos on an interfaced LCD Display.But it plays for some time and hangs.I need to again restart the system.
The same board with the same design was built last year and is in production now.But now when we assembled it again these probs occurs.So i am sure that the software is working,the circuit design is ok and the board designing is also through.Apart from these what could be the problem.

let me know,if want me to explain more.

Cheeers!

Replies

• xheavenlyx
    xheavenlyx
    You know I am no expert of embedded systems but am presently studying about Linux enabled embedded systems.

One thing I can think after knowing that you have checked everything is that there might be some problems with the power supply noise, or interfacing noise.

Also check how you are connecting your LCD. Since there is a RS232 port, make sure the timing of serial data transfer is correct (if you are using the port that is)

Another thing is to try to use the dev board for something else if possible and see how things go. A little more info of how its working can be helpful.
  • cameo
    cameo
    Here you go.
    The basic block of the board:-

A mips 32-bit processor interfaced to TFT LCD display.
    It also has got two external DDR SDRAM of 64Mb each connected.
    Then it has two RS232 ports,one for interfacing with the PC to see the program execution(yamon) thru the hyper terminal.
    It has a 256Mb,NOR flash where in the boot loader is stored.
    The next it has is an audio decoder chip interface to the processor.
    And there is an SD-card insertion where in the operating systems and other applications are stored.