Electricity: 1 Phase Or 3 Phase. Why not 2 Phase?

Electricity: 1 Phase Or 3 Phase. Why not 2 Phase?

Why is there no 2-phase electric power? I had asked this question to my professor back in the days when I was a student of electrical engineering.

In this article, I’ll explain the basics of power systems and try to answer the question. Let’s start.

Electric Power Systems: Why No Two-Phase Power?

The concept of electrical power systems is essential to modern life, fuelling everything from our home appliances to colossal industrial machinery.

While most are familiar with single-phase and three-phase power, the notion of a two-phase power system may seem foreign or non-existent. It's worth asking, "Why is there no two-phase power?" Let's delve into the details.

Overview of Electric Power Systems

Electrical power systems primarily come in two formats: single-phase and three-phase.

A single-phase power system is common in residential applications, providing power to light bulbs, small appliances, and other household equipment.

In contrast, three-phase power is typically used in industrial and large commercial settings, supplying power to large motors and heavy-duty equipment.

The Enigma of Two-Phase Power

Now, what about two-phase power?

In theory, a two-phase power system is possible and was even used in the early days of electrical power distribution. This system consisted of two alternating currents (AC), typically offset by 90 degrees of phase.

However, it has largely become obsolete for several reasons.

The Complications of Two-Phase Power Systems

The main issue with a two-phase power system is the complexity and costliness of its implementation.

It requires four wires: two for each phase and a neutral. As such, it tends to be less efficient than three-phase systems, which deliver more power using fewer wires, thereby saving on installation and operating costs.