Do Certificate Courses Help In Interviews?

I am a second year Engg. student.
1) I want to ask you that is certified course are beneficial at the time of interview ?
2)I am thinking for GRE so what can i do for that as i am in second year Computer Engg. student? Is there is some extra things which helps me in future?
Thank you.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    suyog
    1) I want to ask you that is certified course are beneficial at the time of interview ?
    2)I am thinking for GRE so what can i do for that as i am in second year Computer Engg. student? Is there is some extra things which helps me in future?
    Thank you.
    1. Not sure what certified courses you're talking about. Assuming that you're talking about courses like RHCE (Red Hat Certified Engineer) and others; the answer is yes - they will help. But looking at the trend among engineering students to collect certificates by attending courses and not knowing a thing about technology / domain it can seriously go against. The expectations from a certified professional will be slightly higher and the interviewers may go asking questions of higher difficulty.

The bottom line is - you've to know the subject well to make an impression in the interview. Certification is just a confirmation of it.

2. Unless you've a strong reason to take GRE while you're in second year of engineering; you should typically appear for it when you're in final year. Else, you could go for a trial attempt in second year and 'final' attempt when you're in final year.
  • manishks
    manishks
    The_Big_K