Designing Software

Hey everyone, I'm doing my Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering, currently in third year. Honestly, i spent the two years in my engineering not knowing what I'm actually doing. I just focused (kind of) on my academics and cleared all the semesters. I haven't done anything practical in my field. I just have studied theoretically. So I'm kind of a naive person when it comes to practical mechanical engineering. Now as I am in third year i have started to take things seriously and I am willing to learn some designing software like AutoCad, Pro E, Solid Works, Unigraphics etc. I learned basic 2D AutoCad as a part of our semester course in my 1st semester which was quite easy. So what i wanted to ask you guys is that, where should i start from? Which software courses should i take? And what are your recommendations for a person like me. Please do respond. I'll be waiting for your answers. Thank you!

Replies

• BINAY AGRAWAL
    BINAY AGRAWAL
    Every designing software has its own importance.
    For starting purpose AutoCad is best but after that if you are with surface modelling than you should go for CATIA V5 ,and for solid modelling Pro-E is good.
  • ISHAN TOPRE
    ISHAN TOPRE
    Learn any software. But try to grasp its logic. Interpreting input and output is most important thing. Otherwise even an accountant can handle an engineering software.
  • Ammar Aziz
    Ammar Aziz
    Dear friend start working in Solid works and ANSYS as early as possible to excel in the field of modeling and simulation ............
  • CE Designer
    CE Designer
    Google Sketchup is a good and easy to learn 3d sofatware. Oh and its free from google.
  • viratvicky
    viratvicky
    first its better to do Auto cad...after then if u want to shift automobie side go for CATIA, or if u want to stick on mechanical, go for Pro e
  • CKRao
    CKRao
    Ammar Aziz