Can power be generated with the ceiling fan?

If yes,

Whether it can be done using magnets? Or any other Suggesstions?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare

A little more explanation of your question / idea will help us give better answers.

• Hariii Haripriya
    Hariii Haripriya

I am a Final year Instrumentation student. I've gone through the problem statement that states "Fans are used across regions ( Urban / Rural ) and considering rural mkt penetration is still relatively low where power problems are still there , we can think of Fan which can store energy and which can be useful either in (a) no power condition or (b) can be used to use stored energy for some other application requiring energy. This will be cost effective / energy saver for end user point of view"

My idea is to use magnets and coil for power generation. That is the coil winding is fixed and the magnet is rotated (Magnet is fixed on the head of the fan which gets rotated when fan rotates ). The magnetic flux cuts and generates power.

Whether this works?

• Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath

It seems to be a Rube Goldberg invention.

Why on earth would anyone use that method? Why not use available standby supply of a battery and inverter?

The suggested method will have a poor efficiency, interfere with the primary function of the fan and be very cumbersome. How will the energy be stored for use when there is no power?

• Hariii Haripriya
    Hariii Haripriya

I thought of storing the generated power in the rechargable batteries.

The ouput is that,

The stored energy can be used in small applications like Charging mobiles, Glowing a bulb, etc.,.

• Anoop Kumar
    Anoop Kumar

When I was in 8th class. I asked similar question. If we can use create dynamo from motor which is running on electricity. We can get infinite power.