Automobile: why dont a differential is used in three wheelers

why dont a differential is used in three wheelers?????
i have seen many autos in which no differetial is used just a bevel gear assembly is used which trasmits power to the two wheels at 90 degrees.

Replies

• ranvir1986
    ranvir1986
    There is of course a differential but not in the conventional form. only one of the rear wheels gets power from the engine. The other one is free to rotate. that makes them independent of one another and thus taking turns is no problem. The same applies to cycle rickshaws.
  • raj87verma88
    raj87verma88
    There is a different principal here. One of the rear wheel is free to rotate and the other is driven by the engine. So both the wheel rotate at the required respective RPM while cornering.
  • Sachintha Lenawala
    Sachintha Lenawala
    I am a third year student and i am doing an individual project of three wheeler,
    My project mainly based on a used three wheeler which has two stroke engine. I have to remove the engine and place a proper motor, differential shaft to the rear part of that three wheeler. I have no idea about that, Can any body please help me...
  • Sachintha Lenawala
    Sachintha Lenawala
    I am a third year student and i am doing an individual project of three wheeler,
    My project mainly based on an used three wheeler which has two stroke engine. I have to remove the engine and place a proper motor & differential shaft to the rear part of that three wheeler. I have no idea about that, Can any body please help me...
  • msuresh444
    msuresh444
    Sachintha Lenawala
    My project mainly based on an used three wheeler which has two stroke engine. I have to remove the engine and place a proper motor & differential shaft to the rear part of that three wheeler. I have no idea about that, Can any body please help me...
    what exactly is your project??what ideas you have??
  • Sachintha Lenawala
    Sachintha Lenawala
    msuresh444