wind turbine concept

here's a good find I stumbled on-

This Chicago, IL firm is betting an old design will breathe vigor into the alternate energy market. They have designed and produced wind turbines called aeroturbines. Unlike standard prop bladed turbines, these can be used in urban settings, require no overspeed protection and the blades will not rupture in high wind speeds. They are also bird safe. For more info and pictures, take a look at their website:

#-Link-Snipped-#

Replies

• Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Dude, thats a great find!

Hm.. here's to hoping the designs are open source πŸ˜‰
  • gohm
    gohm
    yeah, I'm a sucker for old tech being new advanced tech again.
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Why don't you try to implement this concept?

I'm trying to work on some solar tracker circuit for my CubeSat project. I'm thinking of using it for general purpose solar tracking at home too. It did say that using the wind turbine and solar power together would be good πŸ˜‰
  • gohm
    gohm
    wow, good idea, I always secretly wished I was an engineer for GE in the alternative energy dept working on wind projects! If I can wrangle time I could explore this. I will need to insure nothing infringes on their designs and devices (you can purchase the units from them). Any suggestions on ways to change and improve this concept for a alternate design?
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Hm, maybe we can have something that utilizes hot air within a cycle? In case there is no breeze at all. Perhaps using it with simplified version of the Stirling engine.
  • gohm
    gohm
    So is your tracker running during the day or 24/7? What form of power is it running on?
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    gohm
    So is your tracker running during the day or 24/7? What form of power is it running on?