Which Micro controller is good to begin with?

As a project beginner, i would like to learn about any one of the microcontroller...Suggest me which would be the best one to know about and also the reasons for that.....

Replies

• Debojyoti
    Debojyoti
    In my opinion it is proper to start with 8051 microcontrollers especially the p89v51rd2 model because,
    1. It has got a handsome memory
    2. It was on of the first to have timer control
    3. It has got facility of interfacing between 2 microcontrollers
    4. It's get up is not very difficult to catch
  • Engineer_in_MKT
    Engineer_in_MKT
    I would make 2 recomendations:
    1 - use something like Freescale's S08QG to really get started, its small and simple (#-Link-Snipped-#)

Why ?
    1. Free Amazing C Compiler (Codewarrior)
    2. It has all the peripherals you may need for simple and medium projects (SCI, SPI, ADC, TIMERS)
    3. Its easy to learn and not legacy like 8051
    or if you want bigger ad better something like Freescale's S08QE (#-Link-Snipped-#) / S08AC (#-Link-Snipped-#)

1. you can start small with QE8 and move all the way up to 128K in flash
    2. It offers a pin to pin option to a 32 bit part (code compatible too !)
    3. lots of modules to play with
    4. Free compiler too !
    5. QE is 3.3 volts, AC is 5 volts
    lots of training
    #-Link-Snipped-#

@Engineer_in_MKT
  • Predictor
    Predictor
    Karthik Sivaram
    As a project beginner, i would like to learn about any one of the microcontroller...Suggest me which would be the best one to know about and also the reasons for that.....
    Check out #-Link-Snipped-#, which uses Atmel.
  • sheenashirley
    sheenashirley
    As for me , the only uController i have ever programmed is a PIC..

You would need a circuit called a programmer to put your program into the uC..
    On your PC you then download the various free software packages , to run with the programmer..