What should I be doing after my Bachelor's???

Hello everyone, I'm new to Crazy Engineers and the very reason why I'm here is the dilemma I'm in.

I'm final year Electronics Engineering student and it is my last semester. I appeared for campus placement process and got selected in IGATE-Capgemini. I'm also appearing for gate '16 (EC) but unprepared. It is very unlikely that I'm going to clear the exam with good score. Also the problem is that I'm no more excited about electronics and I strongly feel that my core basics are weak. I mean apart from embedded, signals, systems, networks, digital circuits and some small topics I don't have proper understanding of any subject in order to study further. My GPA is 7.7..But I can comfortably study if I take a gap of an year.

Since last year I developed interest in coding and languages, though I never got time to learn something by myself. Therefore, I'm not really concerned about my joining in an IT company. But what is worrying me is that will I be able to stand against my colleagues who are from CS/IT ?? Also, is it very difficult to adapt to the new environment (being from Electronics background) ? Right now I don't have any plans about doing MBA or MS but I'm considering MS after 2 yrs span.

So my doubt is should I be focusing on my job and then look for MS or should I appear for gate after an year (like majority of the students do) ?? Also, which specialization in MS you guys would recommend (related to ECE like embedded or CS) ?? And lastly what are the downsides of stranding away from my core branch?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    GATE / IT / MBA or MS - you seem to be unclear about the kind of path you wish to take and I'd recommend that you should read: The great MBA / MS / M.Tech Dilemma and see if it offers any help.