What is white box testing

Hello everyone, I am new to the field of software testing. Can anyone tell me what is white box testing? And how is it different from Black Box testing and the other types?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    vipulb
    Can anyone tell me what is white box testing
    Good question. Here we go -

In layman's language, its about verifying the actual code. White box testing is also known as 'Glass box testing', because in white box testing, the software test engineer is expected to look behind the front end screens, i.e. the code.

Normally, the white box testing is performed by the software developers. However, if the testing engineers have the knowledge of the programming language in which the software has been developed, they can do the white box testing. White box testing is typically used in unit and integration testing.

Do read a good post on White box testing here -

#-Link-Snipped-#
  • viiper
    viiper
    White-box test design allows one to peek inside the "box", and it focuses specifically on using internal knowledge of the software to guide the selection of test data. Synonyms for white-box include: structural, glass-box and clear-box.
  • friendster7
    friendster7
    White box testing (a.k.a. clear box testing, glass box testing or structural testing) uses an internal perspective of the system to design test cases based on internal structure. It requires programming skills to identify all paths through the software. The tester chooses test case inputs to exercise paths through the code and determines the appropriate outputs. In electrical hardware, testing every node in a circuit may be probed and measured; an example is #-Link-Snipped-# (ICT).