What is SAP?

Actually in my training I got the stream as SAP.We know that in java we do programming etc.,Similarly what exactly should the SAP trainee engineer will do?
Also please provide detailed note on SAP.And give me some sites or resources or materials so that I can learn more about it.
Another doubt of mine is HOW CAN EXPERTISE IN SAP IF IT IS NOT ACCESSIBLE OUTSIDE (without liscence)?And what is the use of ABAP plugin in eclipse?

P.S. I am a total beginner in SAP.

Replies

• Vikram S Bargah
    Vikram S Bargah
    Hey @sindhuchowary !. Don't worry you'r getting a good profile. first lemme brief you about SAP. You may be well versed with it.

SAP (Systems Applications and Products) is the world’s leading provider of business software which specializes in industry specific Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) solutions.
    It is implemented in 9 out of every 10 Fortune 500 company.
    You'll be handling the role of SAP Associate , SAP Consultant in your organisation .

Various Modules available in SAP are

1. Technical Modules :- ABAP, BASIS

2. Functional Modules:- Human Resource, CRM, BI, Sales & Distribution, Material Management, Plant Maintenance, FICO, Production Planning,

Types of SAP Consultant

1) Business/Sales consultant - They try to win projects at customer end – without knowing much about SAP

2) SAP Functional Consultant – The are responsible for customizing SAP as per customer demand. They talk with developers to code custom ABAP programs as per client requirements.

3) Developer consultant – They are responsible for coding ABAP/Java Programs

4) SAP Basis consultant – They help in installing , maintenance and performance tuning of SAP servers and databases

Above are the major consulting roles found in almost all SAP projects. Depending on the nature and size of project there may be other consulting roles as well such as SAP security consultant, SAP Techno-functional consultants etc.

Try Getting Technical Roles (SAP ABAP or SAP Basis) .